Our BAFTA Predictions

You can listen to the podcast on which we ‘discussed’ these here but, for the purposes of finality, here are the predictions we made for this year’s BAFTAs. Also, make sure to follow us Live Tweeting the show this evening.

Best Film
Nominees: Avatar, An Education, The Hurt Locker, Precious and Up in the Air
Beth: Avatar
Tom: Avatar
John: The Hurt Locker
Sam: The Hurt Locker

Outstanding British Film
Nominees: An Education, Fish Tank, In the Loop, Moon and Nowhere Boy
Beth: An Education
Tom: An Education
John: Fish Tank
Sam: An Education

Best Director
Nominees: James Cameron for Avatar, Neill Blomkamp for District 9, Lone Scherfig for An Education, Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker and Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds
Beth: Kathryn Bigelow
Tom: Kathryn Bigelow
John: Neill Blomkamp
Sam: Kathryn Bigelow

Best Actor
Nominees: Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart, George Clooney for Up in the Air, Colin Firth for A Single Man, Jeremy Renner for The Hurt Locker and Andy Serkis for Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll
Beth: Colin Firth
Tom: Jeff Bridges
John: Jeremy Renner
Sam: Jeremy Renner

Best Actress
Nominees: Carey Mulligan for An Education, Saoirse Ronan for The Lovely Bones, Gabourey Sidibe for Precious, Meryl Streep for Julie & Julia and Audrey Tautou for Coco Before Chanel
Beth: Carey Mulligan
Tom: Carey Mulligan
John: Carey Mulligan
Sam: Carey Mulligan

Best Supporting Actor
Nominees: Alec Baldwin for It’s Complicated, Christian McKay for Me and Orson Welles, Alfred Molina for An Education, Stanley Tucci for The Lovely Bones and Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds
Beth: Christian McKay
Tom: Christian McKay
John: Alfred Molina
Sam: Christoph Waltz

Best Supporting Actress
Nominees: Anne-Marie Duff for Nowhere Boy, Vera Farmiga for Up in the Air, Anna Kendrick for Up in the Air, Mo’Nique for Precious and Kristin Scott Thomas for Nowhere Boy
Beth: Anne-Marie Duff
Tom: Mo’Nique
John: Mo’Nique
Sam: Anne-Marie Duff

Best Original Screenplay
Nominees: Jon Lucas and Scott Moore for The Hangover, Mark Boal for The Hurt Locker, Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds, Joel and Ethan Coen for A Serious Man, Pete Docter and Bob Petersen for Up
Beth: The Hurt Locker
Tom: Inglourious Basterds
John: The Hurt Locker
Sam: Inglourious Basterds

Best Adapted Screenplay
Nominees: Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell for District 9, Nick Hornby for An Education, Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Ianucci and Tony Roche for In the Loop, Geoffrey Fletcher for Precious and Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner for Up in the Air
Beth: In the Loop
Tom: An Education
John: District 9
Sam: In the Loop

Best Film Not in the English Language
Nominees: Broken Embraces, Coco Before Chanel, Let the Right One In, A Prophet and The White Ribbon
Beth: A Prophet
Tom: Let the Right One In
John: Let the Right One In
Sam: The White Ribbon

Orange Rising Star
Nominees: Jesse Eisenberg, Nicholas Hoult, Carey Mulligan, Tahar Rahim, Kristen Stewart
Beth: Kristen Stewart
Tom: Carey Mulligan
John: Carey Mulligan
Sam: Kristen Stewart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: